axelbeugre

Legendary Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 14, 2023
Hi all,

I am due to have pre employment checks with the firm I have a TC with. On my CV which I submitted as part of the application process I stated I was an independent tutor where I helped students with applications for free and also helped the relevant university with a mentor programme. They were under the same role. This was all volunteering based and there is nothing to prove I tutored the students as I am no longer in touch with them.

Based on experience does anyone know if screening companies ask for volunteering references?
I am pretty sure that they do not, they will only contact companies you have worked for. All my volunteering experiences, non of them were contacted during the employment checks. However, this was my experience with my firm, other firms might do things differently, so this is important to keep in mind.

Reactions: UnknownLondon123

Shreya Verma

Valued Member
Sep 4, 2023
I am pretty sure that they do not, they will only contact companies you have worked for. All my volunteering experiences, non of them were contacted during the employment checks. However, this was my experience with my firm, other firms might do things differently, so this is important to keep in mind.
Just a follow-up question, do firms contact all your previous employers/internship providers or only a few? Usually undergraduate references are asked in apps and I mention them only. But, are undergrad references sufficient or do firms ask for more references?

Reactions: axelbeugre

axelbeugre

Legendary Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 14, 2023
Just a follow-up question, do firms contact all your previous employers/internship providers or only a few? Usually undergraduate references are asked in apps and I mention them only. But, are undergrad references sufficient or do firms ask for more references?