Accelerated LPC and Visa Concerns

ARP

Standard Member
Nov 27, 2021
Hi everyone,

I'm a future trainee starting my TC in August 2023. I'm also a final-year undergraduate law student graduating in June 2022, and I will have to do my LPC in between 2022 - 2023 (my firm isn't switching to the SQE for now). I'm currently trying to negotiate my LPC dates with my firm, but we've run into a few issues.

Most previous trainee cohorts at my firm have done the full-time LPC (September - June). However, I'd like to do the Accelerated LPC so that I can use the extra time to work as a paralegal or do something else (I worked for a few years before I could start uni, so I'm slightly older and have a bit of financial pressure to start working full-time again). We're currently discussing 2 alternative options to the full-time LPC:

Option 1: Do the Accelerated LPC from August 2022 - end of February 2023, and then spend March 2023 - the start of my TC in August 2023 working. This has been done before by a number of (British passport holding) trainees in previous cohorts. However, the problem that is I'm an international student and we understand this may cause visa issues. I'm not concerned about having to leave the UK in between March - August 2023 because I can work in my home jurisdiction, but the issue concerns whether I can still receive my work visa to start in August 2023 if I do this. Neither Grad Rec nor I are entirely sure about this (we just know it's potentially problematic), so I was wondering if anyone has done this before or knows whether this is possible?