Advice needed on SQE and career in general

jn21.apps

Standard Member
Jul 26, 2021
Hi Everyone,

I was hoping to get some advice on what steps I should take to best advance my career. I'm a final year LLB student at a RG Uni (graduating July 2022). This application cycle I was unable to convert 2 ACs for a Vacation Scheme at two National / Mid-Market firms. The resulting uncertainty has caused quite a few dilemmas.

Currently, I'm looking at 2 potential next steps:
1. Self-Fund the SQE starting September + Apply for Vac Schemes at the same time
2. Look for law-related work ASAP (e.g. paralegal, legal assistant, document review) + Apply for Vac Schemes at the same time

I have a few questions, which will help me out a lot:
1. Would self-funding the SQE increase my chances of securing a VS/TC for the concurrent application cycle?
2. I don't have any prior legal work experience. Would it be impossible to secure a paralegal or legal assistant job after graduating?
3. Is it worth self-funding the SQE, given I would be doing it before a potential TC anyways?
4. How can I continue to improve my profile after university (given I lose access to opportunities offered at university)?

I am open to suggestions which I may not have considered already. Also, I would be eligible to do the LPC; would there be any advantage to doing it as opposed to the SQE?

Thanks in advance!

Reactions: elainehua

Lisa Lowe

Legendary Member
Junior Lawyer
Nov 26, 2019
Hello, these are just my thoughts on the above:

Firstly, congrats on securing two VSs in your second year - that's an amazing achievement and I'm sure these two experiences will help you in future VC/TC interviews.

Self funding the SQE v gaining legal work: