Applying to a firm for TC but didn't apply for the VS?

nisadee

Valued Member
Oct 9, 2019
I'm concerned if I get asked why I didn't apply for their vacation scheme because I have completed a vacation scheme elsewhere which I talk about quite a bit in my application (I am a penultimate year law student). What would be an appropriate answer? I honestly didn't apply to many firms for vacation schemes in the first place and this firm I'm now applying to for the TC, I didn't know much about at that point. But not sure if it would be great to mention that...

D

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Sep 11, 2018
I have not been asked that question at any interview, and I have done a lot.

A reasonable answer could be that you were able to ascertain, from whatever you have done, that the firm was somewhere where you could see yourself. I turned down a VS at a firm and just asked for a straight TC interview. This is the line I took (because it was true).

I wouldn't overthink that element too much. Just focus on your motivation for applying for the TC.

Reactions: Jaysen and nisadee

nisadee

Valued Member
Oct 9, 2019
I have not been asked that question at any interview, and I have done a lot.

A reasonable answer could be that you were able to ascertain, from whatever you have done, that the firm was somewhere where you could see yourself. I turned down a VS at a firm and just asked for a straight TC interview. This is the line I took (because it was true).

I wouldn't overthink that element too much. Just focus on your motivation for applying for the TC.

Thanks so much, that's reassuring to hear!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
It is a reasonable question to ask - I have asked it enough times.