Are my first year grades good enough for Vac schemes?

Logan1101

Distinguished Member
  • Jul 16, 2022
    My results first year were 73 Tort, 71 Public, 64 Understanding Law and 57 in Contract. Would my grades meet the threshold for most firms? Especially with the low contract score? I also have poorer A-level results than most (AAB) even though I'm studying at Nottingham where most have straight A's.

I also lack any legal work experience. I've only completed an Easter placement for a charity and took a role as a student researcher during first year. Next year I'll be in two committees for both Pro Bono and Mooting so hopefully, that would be a major improvement. I do work part time as a mail sorter but I don't think firms care much for that.

Despite applying a number of times for first year schemes I've failed to secure any. I would say this would mostly be due to poor applications, especially since I had no one review them before submitting.

Ole1999

Star Member
    Forum Winner
    Junior Lawyer
    Jun 5, 2020
    Those first-year results are not poor at all and won't be fatal in your vac scheme or TC applications. Your A-level grades are in fact better than most candidates who apply so I wouldn't worry about this either!

In terms of work experience, you must remind yourself that you are still only a first-year student. Firms will not expect you to have multiple years of legal experience, nor should you place pressure on yourself to.