ASSESSMENT CENTER PROCEDURE FOR INTERNATIONAL VAC SCHEMERS

futuretraineesolicitor

Legendary Member
Forum Winner
Dec 14, 2019
If I am an Indian student and have cleared all the rounds there are before the Assessment day, will I be required to fly down to the UK to take part in the Assessment Centre or will my process differ? Also, if I assume that I will be required to come to the UK, will the firm pay for the Airfare, Visa etc?

D

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Sep 11, 2018
Each firm differs. Some will pay for your travel. Others won't.

What is certain is that you will need to attend to complete the AC. I assume a Visa shouldn't be too much of an issue as you will only be coming to visit, not work.

I would contact the firm directly for guidance.

• ℹ️
Reactions: futuretraineesolicitor

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Depends on the nature of the exercises. Some will want you to travel to the UK, others may be able to adapt the assessments so they can be done remotely.

You won't need a visa for an interview. They may pay your air fare, but typically that is a capped amount. Even for the more generous of firms, I would expect that to be capped at £300, so less likely to cover all of your expenses.

When applying to a firm, the first thing to check with them is whether they can provide you with a visa for the summer internship. This won't be straight forward for many firms and can be very costly compared to the cost of employing you for 2-4 weeks.

futuretraineesolicitor

Legendary Member
Forum Winner
Dec 14, 2019
If you were to rank the firms in order of them being generous to bear the expenses of International Applicants (I'm from India) who don't come from a strong financial background, how would you rank because honestly, I know where I come from and I won't be able to bear such expenses. Also, is there some kind of scholarship regarding the same?

Jessica Booker