Bad grade in module

mkap

Star Member
Dec 8, 2022
I am worried about a module I performed poorly in during my third year of law school. I got a third in IP which really shocked me because I achieved 2.1s and 1sts in all my other modules (with the exception of one 2.2 during first year). Luckily, I still graduated with a 2.1.

I am in process of applying for paralegal roles. I am worried I will be turned down for a paralegal role when they found out that I have achieved a third in a module during my last year in law school.

Last year, I worked as a paralegal in-house. I was lucky that my day to day tasks did not involve any IP work. I am avoiding applying to IP paralegal roles or any in house paralegal roles that require good knowledge of IP law. I know I will be turned down for those roles because of my grade in IP law.

Does anyone have any advice on what I should do?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I don’t think you will be turned down because of one module, especially for a paralegal role.

It may be different if you apply for IP paralegal roles (but these are pretty rare anyway) and you are saying you are avoiding them, so I don’t think this is an issue.

Some paralegal roles won’t even require a module breakdown, and so may not even find this out.

Reactions: mkap

mkap

Star Member
Dec 8, 2022
I was thinking do I need mention this grade at any point of the recruitment process if the firm doesn’t ask a module breakdown and the role doesn’t involve IP work (like private client work)?

Also do you think it will affect my prospects of getting a training contract in the future?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019