Best route for a non-law

MrGGx

• Feb 23, 2021
    Hello,

I am a non-law economics student in my 2nd year. I have secured a VS with a MC firm, and a non-legal commercial internship with a FTSE 100 firm. I am currently considering the routes to a TC if I don't convert. A lot of firms don't touch non-laws until 3rd year (for VS etc), and then a lot only recruit from VS.

Therefore,
    -For firms that recruit all TC from VS, how does it work with converting it? If I converted it in 3rd year as a non-law when would the job start, after a gap year?
    -For firms that recruit 40-60% from VS and don't allow non-law to apply til 3rd year, is it better to apply via VS or direct TC as a non-law in your 3rd year?

Thanks a lot

A

Anon08

Thanks for your question!

Just to give context, I am presently a final year (3rd year) non-law student.

The way it works is that if you get a TC offer before your final year (e.g. this summer) you have until the start of your final year to accept (TBC by your firm). If you are offered it in your final year, you normally have 4 weeks to accept.

Once you graduate with your non-law degree - you have to go to law school (most likely to do the PGDL/SQE for 2 years), before starting your 2-year training contract.

Regarding whether to apply for a VS or TC - it honestly doesn't matter too much. As a non-law, and in general, I advise going down the VS route to 1) get experience, 2) know whether the firm is right for you.

Hope that helps!

MrGGx

• Feb 23, 2021
    Thanks for your question!

Just to give context, I am presently a final year (3rd year) non-law student.

The way it works is that if you get a TC offer before your final year (e.g. this summer) you have until the start of your final year to accept (TBC by your firm). If you are offered it in your final year, you normally have 4 weeks to accept.