Career changer - straight to TC?

Changes

Legendary Member
Jan 7, 2020
HI all,

Have been lurking for a while, great forum. Has been really useful for research.

In short I'm a career changer in my early 30s looking to switch to commercial law at a City firm. I have no formal law work experience and my job precludes me from doing Vacation Schemes (can't do other paid work in my current role). I'm in the process of applying to firms that offer spring workshops and similar in lieu of vacation schemes but is it realistic to expect to get a TC without doing a Vacation Scheme?

I've done a lot of open days over the past couple of years (probably about 15) as well as attending City Law Live, a law careers changers event and currently attend a sports law course at a city firm. I also work with lawyers and as I manage research contracts have done a bit of work drafting simple contracts, specifications, long emails setting out terms in contract when things have gone wrong (the thing that made me realise I love working with words in a legal context rather than my role, which has traditionally been excel as I'm an economist). I've also led an evaluation of our legal work (I work for a public sector regulator), so I feel I know what I'm letting myself in for but I'm not sure if firms would see it that way?

The other issue is my experience is in the public sector (central government and more recently a regulator), which doesn't necessarily align with a career in commercial law (though exploring the career makes me certain this is the route I want to take).

My academics are ok - Solid 2.1 from Russell Group (though a shakey first year, which didn't count towards my final grade) and AAA at A-level from way back when...

Based on the above is it worthwhile applying for TCs without being able to do VSs or do I need to rethink my plans?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019