Commercial Awareness ... where do I start

Dwight

Legendary Member
Premium Member
Dec 21, 2019
I have 2 questions:

Firstly, whenever I read commercial news stories I am note sure they add to my commercial awareness. I just feel like I am just learning facts. For example, lets say Apple bought Microsoft - what then do I do with that information? It is the SO WHAT part that I am struggling on.

Secondly, how do I begin to understand certain practice areas. For example, I am interested in learning about private equity but where do I start?

Thanks in advance

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
Staff member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    I have 2 questions:

Firstly, whenever I read commercial news stories I am note sure they add to my commercial awareness. I just feel like I am just learning facts. For example, lets say Apple bought Microsoft - what then do I do with that information? It is the SO WHAT part that I am struggling on.

Secondly, how do I begin to understand certain practice areas. For example, I am interested in learning about private equity but where do I start?

Thanks in advance

I think it's very overwhelming when you get started. It's hard to see how learning about a particular story is going to develop your commercial awareness.

I don't think there's ever a single point where commercial awareness 'clicks'. It's more of a case that the more you immerse yourself in this world, you'll very slowly increase your knowledge of the ways businesses work, the financial markets, the business of law firms, the economy etc. Eventually, you'll see how all of this is interconnected and you'll be able to use your reading from one area and apply it to another.