Confused and scared

nehasunil88

Star Member
Premium Member
Jan 7, 2021
Hi, I'm in the second year of my LLB and unfortunately didn't manage to get any vacation schemes this year. Can you apply for vacation schemes in your third year or do you have to apply for a direct TC? Secondly, if I don't get a TC at all, what do you recommend I do after graduation? I cannot self-fund the LPC so should I look for paralegal work? I've been looking at firm websites and haven't seen any paralegal roles advertised. I have good grades (2:1 in my first year) but unfortunately, I am in a non-Russel group university (UWE) as I am an international student and couldn't afford Russell group. I would ideally like to work at a city firm hopefully magic circle. Thank you!

Daniel Boden

Legendary Member
Trainee
Highest Rated Member
  • Sep 6, 2018
    Hi, I'm in the second year of my LLB and unfortunately didn't manage to get any vacation schemes this year. Can you apply for vacation schemes in your third year or do you have to apply for a direct TC? Secondly, if I don't get a TC at all, what do you recommend I do after graduation? I cannot self-fund the LPC so should I look for paralegal work? I've been looking at firm websites and haven't seen any paralegal roles advertised. I have good grades (2:1 in my first year) but unfortunately, I am in a non-Russel group university (UWE) as I am an international student and couldn't afford Russell group. I would ideally like to work at a city firm hopefully magic circle. Thank you!
    You absolutely can apply for vacation schemes in your last year as well as direct TCs so do not worry!

If you don't get a TC after graduation then tbh you have the option to do what you like! Travel, paralegal work, get a part-time job whilst applying... you name it the world is kind of your oyster at that point so I wouldn't worry too much right now.