CV Help - positions of responsibility & student societies

lawstudent12

Dec 28, 2021
I am a first-year law student currently involved in a relevant society. I am on the committee. To be quite honest, I have really not enjoyed this experience whatsoever. I might be making generalisations about most student societies based on my expereince, but unless drinking and clubbing is involved, members really don't seem to put an effort into organising events properly. Members on the committee have been unreliable, cancelled events last minute without an explanation and I feel like everyone on the committee was just doing it as a box ticking exercise for their CV (which is kind of understandable). Anyway, I am making this post for some reassurance really. I think my time and effort are better invested elsewhere next year and perhaps I could find something else that is both fulfilling and adds to my CV. I don't truly want to lead any society having realised that I want something more challenging and worthwhile.

Will it negatively impact my applications to law firms if next year I am not on the committee for any society (though I will be an active member of quite a few) and instead seek positions of responsibility elsewhere? I do volunteer at the law clinic and have an interview coming up for a brand ambassador role. I am also considering mooting next year.

Thanks. Apologies if this is one of those stupid questions we first-years ask. Still, I'd really love to hear what people think haha

@Jessica Booker Your insight would be much appreciated. :)

Last edited:

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019