Do I stand a chance + how to address post-graduation career break + SQE on a visa

GypsyBabushcat

Nov 18, 2023
Hello all!

First of all, I'd like to clarify this is my first year applying for training contracts after having different plans for my career, so my commercial awareness and applications knowledge is not as advanced as one would expect (I appreciate feedback, given this is my first rodeo applying to London firms, but keep in mind that my questions might be a bit naïve and basic - for that, I apologise in advance).

I recently turned 24, and I am an LLB grad (2020, LSE) who achieved a 2.1 by the skin of their teeth - my least strong subjects were law of obligations and property law so I expect this will be a minus in my application. I was always more academically inclined towards different subjects (international law, arbitration... sociology of law), fields which were the focus of my LLM (completed 2023, in overseas but reputable european uni, very difficult programme, my final overall grade was mediocre because of personal issues affecting me during the assessment of an important final subject). I mainly made it through higher education due to combos of scholarships from home country + bursary + loan + full-time work, at the same time of full-time study. My secondary/years 11&12 education in private schools was also owed to scholarships.

I thought I would be pursuing a PhD by now, but I was rejected by two dream programmes of mine due to specific professors not being able to supervise someone at the moment, even though I got very good feedback.