Do Magic Circle/US Law Firms Look Favourably on Paralegals

r2d2_2801

Jul 14, 2023
Hi, I am a law student looking to apply for vacation scheme opportunities. I still have one year of university to go. I have heard previously that being a paralegal is an excellent option to secure a Training Contract, and that firms look more favourably on paralegals than other career paths post law school in case the vacation scheme/training contract route directly doesn't work out. Is there any truth to this? Do I have a significant (or any advantage/disadvantage at all) boost if I aim to apply for paralegal positions? I am hoping to perhaps secure something with a magic circle/silver circle or top US law firm in the future as a trainee, but am a little worried about what to do in case that doesn't happen. Also, would being a paralegal at a good law firm be more impressive to top firms than doing a TC with a smaller regional firm? Thanks

Jake Rickman

Distinguished Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer 42
  • Nov 6, 2020
    Some of the best practitioners I know at some of the best firms in the world started as paralegals. It's absolutely a great way to gain some relevant experience. I was paralegalling when I was offered a TC.
    Also, would being a paralegal at a good law firm be more impressive to top firms than doing a TC with a smaller regional firm?
    This is hard to answer. To the extent that someone gets a job offer as a paralegal at a top firm, it seems likely that they have the hard and soft skills to convert that to a TC at a similarly placed firm. So in this sense, if biglaw is what you're after and you banked a paralegal position at a biglaw firm, I would opt for that rather than a TC at a smaller regional firm because it would be harder/take longer to lateral your way up once you qualify.

r2d2_2801

Jul 14, 2023