Embrace Your Difference - With a Future Trainee at Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Welcome back everyone! Continuing with our series of interviews with future trainee solicitors, today we have two fantastic articles lined up.
In our first article today, we hear from a future trainee at Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

1. Who is your training contract with?

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

2. Are you a law or non-law candidate?

Non-Law

3. Which university did you attend?

The University of York

4. Please could you tell us more about your background and current stage?

I am state school educated and the first generation of my family to go to university. I had no contacts in the legal profession during my application process. I self-funded the Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL) and completed it the year after I graduated. I am currently completing a non-law masters and I will start the LPC in September 2021.

5. When and why did you decide to apply to commercial law?

I decided on commercial law in the summer before my final year of university. I had been thinking about law for a few years prior, but I found myself quite intimidated by the profession with no idea how to access it. I tried other careers such as marketing and TV production through work experience placements but always ended up back at law, so I eventually decided to go for it.

6. How many applications did you send?

7. How many interviews/offers did you receive?

8. How did you go about the application process? Did you map an application strategy?

By my third cycle I had a clear application strategy. I made a list of the type of firms I wanted to apply to, based on my interests and the type of environment I thought I would learn and work best in.