ESG

Lauren

Legendary Member
Junior Lawyer
Nov 16, 2018
How does ESG impact magic circle firms as a business?

Are they likely to be more wary of who they take on as clients given reputational issues e.g boohoo?

Also would they aim to integrate ESG expertise across team?

Naomi U

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Forum Team
Dec 8, 2019
Hi Lauren

I'm far from an expert on this however my approach would be that ultimately law firms are businesses and service providers. Therefore, the focus here would be on clients and how firms try to cater to clients. So I think my focus would be on the current trends and issues that are affecting clients of the various firms and then to consider the impact of ESG in catering to these trends and issues.

I think taking this approach will help streamline your answer as the impact is likely to vary amongst clients and industries and thus amongst firms.

Hope this helps!

Last edited:

Alice G

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Forum Team
M&A Bootcamp
Nov 26, 2018
Hi @Lauren,

I agree with what @Naomi U says here - just to add, here are my thoughts too: