GDL/LPC or SQE advice

Dublinwolf95

Apr 27, 2021
Hi everyone,

I know there have been lots of similar threads already but I've been scratching my head about this decision for a while.

I'm an LLM grad with no undergrad law degree. I work full-time in a non-law job, and the type of law I want to get in to is immigration/public/family/criminal/legal aid - i.e. the types of law that you would need to self-fund your studies to work in. My two options as I see it are:
1. Begin the GDL part-time in September 2021, finish September 2023. Try to fund it so that I can do the LPC full time and finish September 2024
2. Begin part-time SQE prep course in July 2021 and take it from there.
Because I'm working full time, any study I do will need to be part-time, but with the advent of the SQE it's just insanely difficult to tell which route to go down is better for me. I've been in contact with a few firms who have said they haven't made decisions on how they will recruit in 2024 onwards. Would anyone have any advice? And in my particular situation, is doing the GDL part-time and finishing the LPC in 2024 (potentially even 2025 if I don't save enough) even viable?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
The GDL/LPC route will be viable as long as you start the GDL by December 2021. Any later than that, and you’ll have to do the SQE.

Ultimately the SQE was designed for someone like you. Shortens the time needed before you start a TC (you could even find a TC before you have done the SQE and find a firm like Kennedys who put you through the SQE during your training contract basically on a graduate apprenticeship).

I don’t know enough about the specifics of the firms you are looking at and what they are doing. If they aren’t communicating about it, then it will be difficult.