GETTING A TC AS A NON-LAW INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? DIFFICULT BUT NOT IMPOSSIBLE!

axelbeugre

Legendary Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 14, 2023
Hi everyone,

I am extremely excited to be starting as the new Community Assistant and I am here to answer all your questions regarding getting a training contract in the City, especially as an international student. As someone who was not very familiar with the UK legal system, I know how hard it is to start the application process and getting swamped by a lot of pieces of information thrown at you all at once, so I am happy to help in any way that I can.

I suppose I should start with a quick introduction about myself. I am Axel and I am a future trainee solicitor at Goodwin Procter LLP starting in September 2025. I obtained my training contract after the spring vacation scheme back in April 2023.

My journey towards a career in law

My journey to securing a training contract was a bit different compared to others. I was born and raised in Milan, Italy where I did all my schooling until university. Despite wanting to study law in the UK after high school, my financial circumstances did not allow me to study abroad and so I unfortunately had to postpone my dream of studying in the UK and accept a full-tuition scholarship at an Italian university in Milan.