Giving up - are my grades holding me back?

TChunter

Aug 27, 2020
Hi all,

Need some advice re TCs.

I have been applying for the past two years (with no success), and I am thinking (I know they are!) that my 2:2s are preventing me from proceeding to any VI/ACs etc. Should I give up on City TCs - I am an EU student, so it is harder for me to justify regional firms. At this point, I am trying to be a realist....

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks IMG_20200827_1034094.jpg

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Based on your final year grades, I wouldn’t be too worried unless you were applying to firms who are known for being very strict with academics.

This year is a particularly tough year. I wouldn’t give up just yet. I think there are enough London based firms who would still consider you.

D

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Sep 11, 2018
You have a 64% Average. For reference, this cycle when I applied my Average was 63%. Granted, perhaps there are other areas of my application that can mitigate this, but, the likelihood (as hard as it is to swallow) is that your applications simply need to be improved. As Jessica pointed out; it's a tough year, but, your applications can be worked on for sure. The cycle has just re-started for some firms so there's no time like the present! Get cracking on with those apps.

Jaysen has an excellent service on this website (that I highly recommend) that can offer guidance on where you may be going wrong. Alternatively, if you want to DM me one application over, I can have a look and see if you are making any of the common errors. I have a bit of spare time before Uni starts :)

ingrids7836

Jun 4, 2019