Grades Question

gricole

Legendary Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Jul 6, 2018
    HI all,

I'm a graduate who is currently doing a senior-status LLB and with exams coming up I wanted to ask about the specific grade requirements in my unusual situation. I have a first-class degree BSs from a Russell group uni which means I fulfil the academic requirements. What are the expectations of law firms regarding non-law students' education after their bachelors? How strictly are individual grades at postgraduate/GDL level looked at?

Thank you.

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
    Staff member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Premium Member
    M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    The 1st will stand you in good stead. I don't believe there are any official requirements for your postgraduate degree, but you'll want to get an overall 2:1 to keep up the standard of your application, ideally a mid to high 2:1.

Some law firms will place more emphasis on your contract law result than others.

• ℹ️
    Reactions: gricole

Evie D

Apr 29, 2019
    The 1st will stand you in good stead. I don't believe there are any official requirements for your postgraduate degree, but you'll want to get an overall 2:1 to keep up the standard of your application, ideally a mid to high 2:1.

Some law firms will place more emphasis on your contract law result than others.

What happens if you have extenuating circumstances? I scored a low 2:1 owing to severe illness in my second year and brereavement in my final year. This barred me from applying to firms like White & Case, Sullivan etc. whose requirements were either a first or a high 2:1. If i still want to apply to magic/silver/US firms, would my grades put me at a disadvantage?

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
    Staff member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Premium Member
    M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018