(HFW) Holman Fenwick Willan Vacation Scheme 2017

Nicole

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Feb 28, 2018
(HFW) Holman Fenwick Willan Vacation Scheme 2017

How did you find the Holman Fenwick Willan vacation scheme?

The main thing I really enjoyed about this vacation scheme was that I found both weeks that my supervisors made an effort to find interesting work for me to do, and the work they gave me was genuinely useful. It wasn't "made up" work to keep me busy, but research which formed the basis of actual information which was sent to clients, which was pretty exciting but also pretty challenging. Also, I found that people in the department would often come into the office to give me work which was nice, it made me feel genuinely valued.

I'm a non-law student and sat in a litigation seat one week and was expected to use Westlaw etc. to research cases which was kind of confusing but the library staff were really helpful. My advice is that if you find the tasks challenging, make use of the resources available to you.

However, first and foremost HFW is a shipping and industry firm. You're going to enjoy the firm and the work that they do a lot more if you're interested in these areas. I wasn't to be honest and so sometimes I found the work a bit dull.

The socials were fun but there weren't that many. I think we went to an escape room and then to dinner, and we also went for drinks another evening.

What were the vacation scheme assessments like at Holman Fenwick Willan?

I felt that there were a lot of assessments.