Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    Hogan Lovells Vacation Scheme Interview 2018

When was your Hogan Lovells interview?

November 2018

What was it for?

Winter Vacation Scheme

Please describe the interview process at Hogan Lovells.

There were two interviews during the day.
    The first interview was a partner interview, they began by introducing themselves, then asked me some questions about why I studied history. The questions then went on to my motivations for a career in law.
    Some of the questions included:
    • Why law?
    • Why commercial law?
    • Why HL?
    • Who else have you applied to and why them? Are they similar to HL?
    • Where would I open a new office and why?
    In the last 10 minutes we briefly discussed the case study that I had been given earlier in the day. One of the questions was- what kind of practice areas would be involved to deal with the issues that may arise.

My second interview was the situational interview and was with HR and a senior associate. They both explained that the purpose of the interview was to assess how I would react to everyday situations trainees may find themselves in. They said that there were no right or wrong answers and that it was more about seeing how I approached different situations. I was then given a few seconds to consider the situation and discuss how I would respond. I was then asked further questions stemming from my answers. Questions included 'You are staying late in the office tonight because you are leaving work early tomorrow to go away for the weekend. A partner invites you to a client dinner. How would you respond?' and 'A first seat trainee is being quite rude to support staff and this is beginning to rub off on you and other trainees. You hear support staff complaining about the "trainee attitude". How would you respond?'

Then we were taken on a tour of the office followed by lunch.

What advice would you give to future applicants for the Hogan Lovells interview?