How I passed SQE1 while working full time

When did you start and complete SQE1?​

I did the SQE 1 sitting in November 2021

Who was your SQE provider?​

I studied with Barbri

Why did you choose the provider you did?​

I wanted a provider where I could study online and at times of my choosing, so that I could fit in study with my work commitments. I sat the first ever SQE 1 exam so at that time all SQE providers were an unknown quantity, however, having researched the teaching ideology to be used and their track record of providing prep courses for other legal qualifications, I decided that Barbri would be a reasonable choice for me.

What kind of support did your provider offer during the SQE?​

Barbri offered online pre-recorded lecture modules with periodic testing to cement learning and provide regular practice for the exam. The personal study planner tracks the time spent studying, learning progress and test results, indicating if you are behind or in front of schedule, and highlighting subject areas that require more study and practice. Study books were provided in hard copy and online and you had email contact with an assigned tutor if you had any questions that you needed to ask about content. They also offered pre-booked face to face remote sessions or telephone calls with your assigned tutor, ongoing law updates as the course progressed, and assisted in setting up a wats app group for students studying with them so we could support each other through the course. The offering is very much technology based but in being so allows flexibility to a student in how and when they study, while providing a framework to ensure all required study areas and practice tests are completed in adequate time for the exam

Please explain the structure of the SQE programme in your own words​

Because the SQE tests functioning legal knowledge for SQE 1 across multiple subject areas simultaneously Barbri have set up the study programme in much the same way.