How to demonstrate commitment to law as non-law

cls33

Star Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Oct 3, 2022
Hi,

This question has probably been asked before, but I couldn't find anything when using the search tool. I have a direct TC interview soon and I want to be prepared to answer why law. I have many good points for why commercial law since I am studying a business degree (such as client-facing, international, versatile), but I feel I should be able to convey why the law specifically (for example if questioned on why not consultant/IB)

The only motivation I can think of is that the law provides a solid framework. At times during my degree, I would find certain business modules general and almost a bit waffly, and I believe the law provides a rigid framework to work with whilst also being able to consider the wider economic environment.

I feel as a law student it is easier to demonstrate commitment to black letter law itself as you have studied ins and outs, but as non-law i'm not sure how to sound more convincing.

Would appreciate any advice!

curious_cat

Star Member
Junior Lawyer
Mar 21, 2021
Hello, I had to justify this to every person I met on my vac schemes as well as the TC interview.

The rigid framework is a good start but your answer needs to be a bit more concrete than that. The way I framed it was by relating it to my experiences and picking out how I enjoyed the legal aspects of it - I looked at patents and regulatory in a couple of internships. I also did some legal work experience and I drew out what I liked about that - the case law research, coming up with a solution to a problem and also interacting with clients. If you provide specific examples, I found that they are more interested rather than a generic one.

cls33

Star Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Oct 3, 2022
Hello, I had to justify this to every person I met on my vac schemes as well as the TC interview.