I'm having a meltdown

rayofsunshine

Standard Member
Nov 28, 2020
Hi all,

I'm feeling really low, really rubbish and lost the slightest confidence I had.

Sat mocks for criminal and EU a few weeks ago. Results were in today. Shocking. My heart sank. I had a set structure, which obviously changed a bit here and there based on facts.

Just as a side note, my background is engineering, A+ grade student.

Feedback as follows:

CRIMINAL
This is a confusing submission. Poor in places and not currently demonstrating your effective application of the law/learning to the facts.
Review your writing style to facilitate a closer link between AR/MR and the facts. Remember to follow the flow of the question.

EU
Many problems with expression and presentation.
The structure (Direct Effect, Indirect Effect, State Liability) is fine but you do not articulate well all the relevant legal concepts and tests.
Your application of the law to the facts is often hesitant and unconvincing.
Clearly you have some knowledge but you need to develop a more assured writing style.

I don't even know what advice I'm asking for, so any help would be great. Just feel really rubbish!

RubySmithers

Star Member
Jun 25, 2020
Hi, please don't stress - I was also in your situation. What really helped me was doing the following:
  1. Implement the IRAC (Issue Rule Apply Conclude) structure into all of your answers. I assume you're currently studying the GDL? If you are, I can confidently say that the GDL is mostly about having good exam technique and giving the examiner everything they want in a structured, concise manner.
  2. Go back to your answers, re-read them and reflect on the feedback you've been given. Sometimes reviewing your own work can be difficult because you think you've done everything right. But, read the question/scenario carefully and re-read your answer and see where you've gone wrong.