Informing law firm about study abroad?

lawstudent15

Star Member
Feb 26, 2022
Hello,

I am in a bit of a dilemma and would appreciate any kind of help!

I am currently in my second year of uni. I applied for a year abroad back in November 2021 which would have switched my degree course from a standard 3 year LLB to a 4 year LLB (my 3rd year being abroad). I found out in late November that I didn't get the year abroad, and hence I continued applying for vacation schemes as a "normal" penultimate student. However, a month ago I got told that a place opened up for the year abroad and I was offered the chance to switch my degree. Naturally, I accepted the offer.

I haven't been massively successful this cycle given that it is my first one. Yet, I managed to (somehow!) secure an AC at a great US firm. I like the firm, but the issue is that I am no longer a penultimate student. When I applied back in early Jan, I was still technically in my penultimate year and eligible.

I am not too sure what to do now. I want to attend the interview (even if it is for practice), hence why I haven't said anything about my year abroad to the firm. What is the best thing to do in this situation? The interview is next week.

Thanks!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hello,

I am in a bit of a dilemma and would appreciate any kind of help!

I am currently in my second year of uni. I applied for a year abroad back in November 2021 which would have switched my degree course from a standard 3 year LLB to a 4 year LLB (my 3rd year being abroad). I found out in late November that I didn't get the year abroad, and hence I continued applying for vacation schemes as a "normal" penultimate student. However, a month ago I got told that a place opened up for the year abroad and I was offered the chance to switch my degree. Naturally, I accepted the offer.