Introduction, penultimate year student applying for Vacation Schemes

24aa2001

Dec 9, 2021
Hi everyone, I'm a penultimate year student from SOAS, currently applying for vacation schemes. I currently have online tests/ situational judgement tests to complete but I am trying to prepare.
Online tests I have to complete:
-PwC
-Herbert Smiths Freehills
-Reed Smith

I have applied to other vacation schemes also for Slaughter & May, DLA Piper, Ashurst etc
I'm not confident I will be noticed by every firm due to my poor Year 1 marks, however, I do have mitigating circumstances for that which I include in my application. Are there any firms that could notice me despite my year 1 grade?
Looking to hear any advice

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi everyone, I'm a penultimate year student from SOAS, currently applying for vacation schemes. I currently have online tests/ situational judgement tests to complete but I am trying to prepare.
-PwC
-Reed Smith

I have applied to other vacation schemes also for Slaughter & May, DLA Piper, Ashurst etc
I'm not confident I will be noticed by every firm due to my poor Year 1 marks, however, I do have mitigating circumstances for that which I include in my application. Are there any firms that could notice me despite my year 1 grade?
If you have mitigating circumstances to your grades, most firms will consider you. They will just look past your first year grades and put more weighting on other academics and other evidence if your grades are not a true reflection of your abilities.

Reactions: 24aa2001 and AvniD

George Maxwell

Administrator
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer 50
Oct 25, 2021
-PwC
-Reed Smith

Hi @24aa2001,

Welcome to the forum! It is great to have you as part of the community. :cool:

Congratulations too on getting through to the online/situational judgement tests that you mentioned.