Introduction

gabbynunes235

Jan 6, 2023
Hi everyone, I'm Gabby and I’m currently in my final year of my Geography degree at Durham University and am in the middle of applying for summer vacation schemes.

I think what I’m struggling with the most is developing my commercial awareness skills, I almost don’t really know where to start in terms of building this into my daily routine. I also get quite daunted by the fact that there are so many different sectors that law firms operate in, I don’t know how I am supposed to have such a breadth of knowledge about multiple industries. Is there any advice you have in terms of this?

Another thing I’m finding difficult is how to go about researching firms and then stand out in my applications about why I am applying to that firm. I know it is important to link the firm’s values back to yourself, but I still feel like my answers are quite generic e.g. I’m drawn to firm X because it is a leader in the energy sector, this is an area that through my Geography degree I have become extremely passionate about.

AvniD

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Gold Member
Premium Member
Oct 25, 2021
Hi everyone, I'm Gabby and I’m currently in my final year of my Geography degree at Durham University and am in the middle of applying for summer vacation schemes.

I think what I’m struggling with the most is developing my commercial awareness skills, I almost don’t really know where to start in terms of building this into my daily routine. I also get quite daunted by the fact that there are so many different sectors that law firms operate in, I don’t know how I am supposed to have such a breadth of knowledge about multiple industries. Is there any advice you have in terms of this?