Likelihood of getting selected for a silver circle vacation scheme

goatenthusiast12

Dec 7, 2022
Hello. I'm an international student doing LLB in a British university that is ranked pretty low. Now I know that a majority of silver circle (and magic ofc) firms tend to go for either oxbridge or RG unis. I also know that they select a few students that are from neither oxbridge or RG universities, but even then they're pretty decent unis. I won't name mine but its ranked around 60-80 in the UK. Do I have a chance of being selected for a vacation scheme or a training contract given that I'm the ideal candidate in other aspects (have good Alevel grades, have a 2.1 or above in uni, tons of work experience, and know how to make my application stand out) but come from a 'low tier uni'? I feel down when thinking about this. Are there any stories out there of candidates from low ranked unis securing a VS or/and a TC in a silver circle firm? Also any advice to make my application look more attractive would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019