Asmee DC

Valued Member
Future Trainee
Jan 17, 2019
Hi,

I am currently going into my second year at the University of Birmingham of the LLB for Graduates program (2 years instead of 3 years to get a law degree), as I already have an undergraduate degree. I'm also an international student from Canada looking to start my career as a solicitor in the UK.

I have previously applied to vacation schemes in 2018, and with no luck did not even get to the interview stage. After many meetings with Career advisors and peers, I managed to secure a work placement scheme through UOB with Pinsent Masons in June 2019.

As I'm a penultimate student, I am currently applying for Training Contracts for 2021 positions. I was wondering if I should even bother applying for Vacation schemes for 2020. I've received advice to apply straight away to the TC but I want to be proactive and keep my options open. Additionally, I will complete the LPC in 2020-2021 and hoping I can secure a TC for sponsorship.

Any tips/suggestions for me would be highly appreciated!!

Thanks!

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
Staff member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    Yes, I'd definitely still apply to vacation schemes. For some firms, that's going to be your only way in and it will also boost your CV for future training contract applications.

I don't know what your grades/the rest of your experiences are like, but I suggest re-evaluating your applications to see if there are any areas that could be improved for your future applications. You can use our guide to help you.

Reactions: Asmee DC and Daniel Boden

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
    TCLA Moderator
    Gold Member
    Graduate Recruitment
    Premium Member
    Forum Team
    Aug 1, 2019
    Hi,