LPC or SQE?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Carly, Jun 12, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Carly

Carly New Member

TCLA Credits:
    Hi everyone, I’m new on here!

I have been figuring out who to talk to regarding this. I have been googled my way and it lead me to here...

So I graduated my law degree in 2018 and have had two years just working - a paralegal role.

I am now at the decision of whether to go back to uni in September and do the LPC or wait until 2021 and start the SQE.

I am really unsure what route to take as to be honest I don’t really know what the pros and cons are of each. I have friends who have done the LPC however I feel like I need other advice.

Some advice would be really appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!

2. Jessica Booker

Jessica Booker Legendary Member
    Graduate Recruitment

TCLA Credits:
    LPC:
    - Expensive
    - once you have a training contract, you are practically guaranteed qualification
    - bottle neck of opportunity is just getting the job in the first place
    - fixed time commitment - the earliest you could qualify is 24 months after completing the LPC
    - have to stick with one employer throughout your time

SQE:
    - can train at more than one firm
    - cheaper (supposedly)
    - could take a shorter amount of time to qualify, especially if you utilise previous legal work experience
    - lower pass rates of SQE assessments, so no guarantee of qualification

• Informative Informative x 2
  3. amb98

amb98 Star Member

TCLA Credits:
    Thanks Jessica, extremely useful!

Would you not say for SQE that there would be a bottleneck on qualification since qualifying is effectively easier than the current route, so we’d expect more to qualify under SQE route?

4. Ratish S

Ratish S Star Member

TCLA Credits: