Moving to Germany at some point during my career

s.omething

Apr 21, 2021
Hi everyone,

This is a bit random maybe but don't know if anybody has any insight...

One of my life dreams is to move to Germany one day. Don't ask why, it just is! I am a Germanophile.

I have a law degree and just got a training contract offer.

How common is it / how possible is it, for UK-qualified lawyers to move to Germany? Has this ever been known to happen or is this just a pipe dream? What might be a conceivable route, if any? Is there a particular practice area I could try to qualify into that make it more likely (like competition law)?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi everyone,

This is a bit random maybe but don't know if anybody has any insight...

One of my life dreams is to move to Germany one day. Don't ask why, it just is! I am a Germanophile.

I have a law degree and just got a training contract offer.

How common is it / how possible is it, for UK-qualified lawyers to move to Germany? Has this ever been known to happen or is this just a pipe dream? What might be a conceivable route, if any? Is there a particular practice area I could try to qualify into that make it more likely (like competition law)?

I’d have a look on LinkedIn to see if you can find people who have made that type of move and connect with them to ask for their advice on what’s the best way to approach it.

I am assuming you are fluent/business fluent in German?

Definitely not a pipe dream though

Reactions: Alison C

TC fiend

Legendary Member
  • Apr 27, 2021
    Hey, I know people who have done secondments in German offices, and even a German partner at my firm who did her TC in London and then moved back to Germany with the firm. So definitely possible! Easier if you speak fluent German, but not necessary.

Reactions: s.omething

s.omething

Apr 21, 2021