My TC Journey 2022-23

laubedusixjuin

Esteemed Member
Oct 14, 2022
Hello everyone,

I am currently a final-year non-law student at UCL hoping to get a training contract this year. Most of the firms I am applying to are US firms or firms with opportunities for (multiple) seats in disputes, although I am throwing in some others too.

I have already started my applications, and have submitted 4, two for winter vacation schemes and two for spring/summer schemes. I managed to get to the first stage interview for one of these firms but got a PFO soon after, although I think there might have been a bit of unconscious self-sabotage in that one as I found something out about the firm after applying that made me really not want to work there!

I am hoping to submit at least 3 more applications that I have started working on already by the end of next week - Akin Gump, Debevoise & Plimpton and Willkie Farr & Gallagher. Some of these have really long applications so that's a rough goal but I've got a lot of university work coming up so it would be good to get these out of the way as they are some of my top options!

Reactions: Jessica Booker

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi @laubedusixjuin - it sounds like you have yourself some good goals, and I like that you are putting some flex in there depending how your other commitments go. Please do not hesitate to ask questions in the forums to help you with this journey to reaching your goals - I am sure the TCLA and wider TCLA community will be able to help you with any queries you may have.

Jaysen

Founder, TCLA
Staff member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
  • Feb 17, 2018
    First update - actually managed to finish and send off my Akin Gump application today. 2 to go this week, and then starting working on Sidley Austin!