My unusual journey to a TC

Ali A

Legendary Member
  • Feb 28, 2022
    Hi,

I thought I would post on here as I have seen other people do the same and it is very motivating to see people stick to their goals and update everyone as they go.

I am a current LPC student. I decided to self-fund the LPC after getting a high 2:1 from a RG university and then a master's in corporate law from another RG university. I wanted to paralegal in London after university initially but my mum needed me to stay home for a year after being away for 4 years so I decided to do the LPC remote. This is because my city does not have that many legal opportunities and I wanted to stay somewhat close to law and the career.

Throughout my studies, I never really took applying for VS' and TCs seriously as I thought this was what people did once they graduated.

However, in my second year, I sent 5 applications off but all were instantly rejected mainly for them being plagued with typos. In my third year, I did not apply at all.

During my master's, I sent off a grand total of one application which was also rejected.

However, this year during my LPC I have made a real attempt at sending off applications and attempted to learn more about the career through Aspiring Solicitors, Legal Cheek and of course TCLA.

This year I have set myself the goal of attending at least one AC which would also be my first ever!

So far I have sent off applications to:

GOWLING (REJECTED POST ONLINE TEST)
    IRWIN MITCHEL (REJECTED POST ONLINE TEST)
    CMS (COMPLETED WG, AWAITING RESPONSE TO SEE IF I HAVE SECURED A VI)
    BRISTOWS DIRECT TC (REJECTED AFTER VI)
    CLYDE & CO (COMPLETED VI, AWAITING RESPONSE TO SEE IF I HAVE SECURED THE AC)
    DWF (INVITED TO COMPLETE VI)
    ADDLESHAW GODDARD
    WFW
    TRAVERS SMITH
    WHITE & CASE
    BDB PITMANS
    CHARLES RUSSELL SPEECHLYS DIRECT TC
    PINSENT MASONS DIRECT TC

I still need to apply for:

WOMBLE BOND DICKINSON VS
    BAKER MCKENZIE DIRECT TC