Network and Network Well- With a Future Trainee at Clyde & Co

Welcome back everyone to our series of interviews with future trainee solicitors. In our final article today, we have the fantastic opportunity to hear from a future trainee at Clyde & Co.

1. Who is your training contract with?

Clyde & Co

2. Are you a law or non-law candidate?

Non-Law

3. Which university did you attend?

University of Manchester

4. Please could you tell us more about your background and current stage?

I am an international student who studied geography at university. I was convinced that I would go into academia or something “quiet” because I was always told that professions like the law were just not for people like me. I started working with the Civil Service and realised that the legal work they were doing with commercial organisations was incredibly interesting and started my journey there. I’m currently studying my GDL at the University of Law.

5. When and why did you decide to apply to commercial law?

I decided in between my second and third year of my non-law degree. I always knew I wanted to work in a commercial space and applied to lots of consulting and banking grad schemes. Part of my degree was also looking into organisations which I loved. I loved the fast pace, the intensity, and the fact that I could have an impact on so many different aspects. It’s a lot like how my brain works, and the commercial environment specifically fit that quite well. Once I actually started talking to people in other commercial spaces, I also realised that I wanted to help clients in a more long-lasting way and build relationships, instead of short projects in consulting. After a lot of talking to people and getting some experience, I took the plunge.

6. How many applications did you send?

4 vacation scheme applications, 3 training contract applications

7. How many interviews/offers did you receive?

2 interviews, 1 offer