Star Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
Junior Lawyer
Nov 7, 2020
Hi!!! :)

First time posting a thread :)

I'm a final year History student at a Russell Group university and have had reasonable medical and family mitigating circumstances throughout my degree which has resulted in a couple of not-great module results (a third in second-year and a 2:2 in my first year). Overall, however, I am on track this year for an upper class 2:1 or first. I have no strong legal background in terms of work experience but have been working since sixteen in different roles and have been interested in commercial law since my A-Levels. As I am in my final year and the summer vacation scheme app period is around I feel as though due to my grades and my latecomer commercial awareness I am not in the greatest/strongest position to apply. My workload this term has been pretty heavy and I feel as though I am limited in the number of strong applications that I can honestly make. I wanted to know, if in the case of not getting a vac scheme in the summer, how would a year-out working post-grad look to firms? Am I at a disadvantage not getting a vac scheme in my final year, and reapply in a post-graduate position? I have also heard that doing the GDL without a training contract is not a good idea (I would not be able to self-fund but was thinking of applying to some scholarships)?

Any advice would be super helpful!!!!

D

Deleted member 8341

Hi - I think Jessica could give much better advice but here's what I've heard. Any work experience is good, lots of people change careers and get TCs so a year with a good grad scheme will look good on your application form. A year with nothing might not look great but a job in sales/consulting/civil service/ any good grad scheme could enhance your chances. You actually can self-fund the first year of a GDL with a government loan but this isn't recommended by many people.

• 🤝
Reactions: time2work

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member