Non-law student looking for advice

Casual

Distinguished Member
Premium Member
  • Nov 6, 2019
    Hello and Happy New Year!
    I'm currently in my final year doing Economics & Business at UCL. As I recently got my first application rejection I feel slightly demotivated and decided to re-evaluate my current situation.

• As of now, my average is at 59 with a predicted 2:1 upon graduation.
    • My module grades so far are as follows: one first, eight 2:1s, three 2:2s and 2 marks in their 40s.
    • The only work experience I have is a one-month internship at EY over the last summer in the assurance team.
    • Extra-curricular wise I was heavily involved in dance society and took second place as a choreographer for a team competition last year. Choreographing for a big show this year too.
    Based on the above, could you please advise me on what would be the most optimal thing to do in my current situation?
    Should I continue applying for law firms vac schemes? Or is it not worth it and I'd be better off prioritising my academics, securing 2:1 and applying during GDL instead? If so I'd imagine I will still need to compensate for my poor university academic performance and attain distinction at GDL - is it realistic while also submitting quality applications?
    I was also considering doing pro bono in the second term to build up legal work experience. If there's anything else I could do, would so much appreciate your advice.
    Thank you.

A4991

Star Member
    Nov 20, 2019
    Hello and Happy New Year!
    I'm currently in my final year doing Economics & Business at UCL. As I recently got my first application rejection I feel slightly demotivated and decided to re-evaluate my current situation.

• As of now, my average is at 59 with a predicted 2:1 upon graduation.
    • My module grades so far are as follows: one first, eight 2:1s, three 2:2s and 2 marks in their 40s.