Overall 2:1 but inconsistent modules? Magic Circle out of the question?

Katie_H_22

Standard Member
Jan 20, 2023
I was hoping to secure a TC at either a Magic Circle, Silver Circle or possibly a US firm (perhaps the latter will be a bit out of reach for me).

I graduated in modern languages from Oxbridge (don't want to say which; want to remain fairly anonymous). In my first year, I secured a first and won a prize, but in the other two years of my degree, I got a 2:1 average (65 or 66), but with inconsistent module marks, like this:

The lower marks were in Italian oral and translation exams. My final degree class was 2:1 (65.7), with one high first module.

Would I still be a viable candidate for a Magic Circle or US TC? I know that some of the toughest US firms (e.g. Cleary) would probably be out of the question.

Thank you.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I don't think this will be an issue to apply to most of the firms in the categories you have mentioned. A few that really emphasise exceptional academics might be out of the question, but even then I think it could still be a possibility.

Katie_H_22

Standard Member
Jan 20, 2023
I don't think this will be an issue to apply to most of the firms in the categories you have mentioned. A few that really emphasise exceptional academics might be out of the question, but even then I think it could still be a possibility.
Thank you....which firms really stress exceptional academics? I know Slaughter & May scrutinise module marks, Clearly Gottlieb ask for a 'high 2:1' and want 'overall exceptional' (or words to that effect) academics, probably also Debevoise & Plimpton?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019