PGDL or LLM Law and Legal Practice at BPP

James5612

Junior Lawyer
Jul 2, 2020
Hi all,

I have managed to secure a training contract and, as a non-law student, I am currently down to study the LLM Law and Legal Practice at BPP (Waterloo), commencing this September. From what I understand, the LLM Law and Legal Practice is essentially the PGDL plus an extra module which confers it LLM status. It seems that the PGDL normally finishes in April, however, the extra module for the LLM takes it up to July. I know that the SQE will start in September after this. I am also aware that this will likely be my last extended period of holiday and, therefore, my last chance to go on a multi-month travelling trip. The LLM would also require me to pay two or three extra months in expensive London rent! So, I have two questions:

1) Given that the firm in question has no preference as to whether I do the PGDL or the LLM, is there any real advantage in doing the latter?
2) Were I to do the LLM, would it actually require me to be in London, paying all that extra rent, if the added module were just a research project as is one of the optional modules?

In essence, would my desire to do the PGDL over the LLM (because I want to travel) be a lazy decision?

Thanks in advance!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
1) no - put frankly, people know it isn’t really a proper LLM, just the GDL labelled up as one.

2) don’t know enough about the course to comment on that.

Reactions: James5612

aspiringlawyer004

Nov 8, 2020
Hi, I'm currently doing the LLM Law and Legal Practice.

In answer to 1), there is no real advantage to doing the LLM apart from getting the master's loan. If you're being sponsored, I see no reason to do it.