PGDL or SQE prep

sxw517

Legendary Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
  • Sep 20, 2021
    I am messaging with an enquiry really, I thought it might be best to seek your opinion or advice on this matter. I am a recent graduate of the University of Birmingham and I have recently left a job as a trainee accountant to pursue a career in commercial law, as such I was planning on starting the GDL in January. However, I am aware that the process through which one becomes a solicitor has markedly changed. What would be the best route in your opinion, to still enrol for the GDL with BPP and then progress on to the SQE 1 + 2 courses or to enrol on the LLM Legal Practice (SQE1+2) with the University of Law, as I understand that BPP are not offering a course like that of the University of Law yet. Are there any other alternatives that are available, that I haven't mentioned, as an alternative to the GDL and LPC route that once was?

Which would you advise as the best route to take in todays situation?

Jane Smith

Legendary Member
    Sep 2, 2020
    It is hard to tell yet. As you do not have a law firm paying your fees it is probably sensible to do the UoL one that covers both SQE1 and 2 even though some of the big firms in the City Consortium are putting people through the BPP PGDL (and then SQE1) and then they go on to the course after that followed by SQE2. Either of BPP or UoL is likely to be suitable however. I am not an expert but if you have no sponsorship and can only obtain one "masters loan" then UoL SQE1 and 2 is probably easiest (even though you have to pay separately and sit separately the SQE1 and 2 exams set by Kaplan - which you do on either course I think.

sxw517

Legendary Member
    Gold Member
    Premium Member
  • Sep 20, 2021
    Hi Jane,

Thanks for your reply.