possible 2:2 in first year, do i still apply for vac schemes in second year?

tobywstress

Nov 9, 2022
So I have received my first year grades averaging 58% as follows
Contract : high 2:2
Tort : high 2:2
Legal theory : low 2:1
Public : ungraded but my Jan exam was a mid/high 2;1

As it stands, my overall grade may reach 2:1 if my Public Law derived mark follows my January results. For A-levels, I have AAB equivlent.
Should I still apply to any city firms next year given my grades were so bad? For applicant background, I am studying at RG uni and have done some open days at US firms in first year. I also have some non-legal experience at theatre technician.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Most city law firms will have a 2.1 requirement, and so you won’t meet that until your have your January deferred result, which will be after most firms have closed their applications.

You may find a small number of other opportunities in the legal sector that don’t require a 2.1 though, and so you could apply to them.

However, I would encourage to invest time into getting your grades up in the first instance.

Reactions: laurabeaumont

tobywstress

Nov 9, 2022
Most city law firms will have a 2.1 requirement, and so you won’t meet that until your have your January deferred result, which will be after most firms have closed their applications.

You may find a small number of other opportunities in the legal sector that don’t require a 2.1 though, and so you could apply to them.

However, I would encourage to invest time into getting your grades up in the first instance.
is my high 2:2 contract grade an auto rejection?

h79

Standard Member
Jan 28, 2023
I really don't think it's too much of an issue. Made good progress in VC applications with 61 average in first year, with some 2.2 modules. As long as you start second year well you should be fine..

laurabeaumont

Valued Member
Staff member