Previous Unfinished Study: To include or not?

aa90210

Standard Member
Dec 30, 2019
Hello, looking for some input on something that's been on my mind every cycle.

Before completing my law degree, I studied finance in Canada. I did two years, was doing ok but my GPA was pretty sucky (2.06/4.0).

(Un)fortunately, depending on how you look at it, external factors forced me to relocate, and I chose to study law in the UK.

The question is, when it comes to applications, should I include the Canadian studies in the education section or not? It was a pretty prestigious university, and I reference my time there a lot in my app questions as I did quite a lot outside of academia, but not sure which pulls up more red flags, including it or not including it (since there's going to be a 2-year gap between A-Levels and my UK law studies if I leave it off).

My options are:
1) Include it, but not include courses, grades or gpa; essentially just a signpost that I attended said Canadian university once upon a time. Maybe include reasons for having to relocate in extenuating circumstances or the "additional information" sections if they're there

2) Include it, and enter my sucky grades

3) Not include it, and just mention it in relevant app questions if the opportunity arises.

Any input would be appreciated, thank you :)

TC fiend

Legendary Member
  • Apr 27, 2021
    I think @Jessica Booker is best placed to answer this!