Should I defer my TC to attend ACs?

m.a.t.

M&A Bootcamp
Junior Lawyer
Dec 24, 2020
Hey guys
I’m currently facing a little conundrum and I would appreciate any advice. I currently have a TC with a silver circle law firm and I am supposed to start the LPC in February and start my TC in September 2022. However, I just got an AC with Linklaters and Hogan Lovells in February for the direct TC as well. I am not sure if I should go ahead and start the LPC with the silver circle firm or defer to see if I will get a TC offer from Links/HL.

Starting the LPC next month is advantageous for me because I am an international student and my visa expires soon so if I start the LPC with the silver circle firm, I wouldn’t have to pay for the visa fees myself. The second advantage of starting in February is that I wouldn’t have to do the SQE which is longer and more uncertain. However, the advantage of deferring to September 2023, which is the next available start date, is that I would have more time to see if I can secure a TC at Linklaters or Hogan Lovells. I am not sure if that is a good enough reason to potentially waste a year and to risk doing the more uncertain SQE. Is the prospect of training at a MC firm worth it or should I go ahead with starting the LPC and TC with the silver circle firm?

@Jessica Booker Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hey guys
I’m currently facing a little conundrum and I would appreciate any advice. I currently have a TC with a silver circle law firm and I am supposed to start the LPC in February and start my TC in September 2022. However, I just got an AC with Linklaters and Hogan Lovells in February for the direct TC as well. I am not sure if I should go ahead and start the LPC with the silver circle firm or defer to see if I will get a TC offer from Links/HL.