Show me the basics...

LondonProspect

Sep 10, 2020
Hey everyone,

I'm a complete and utter beginner to both this site and corporate law in general. I have a (very) basic understanding of TC's, but that's where my knowledge ends. I was wondering if anyone on this site can walk me through the interview process/qualifications needed/firms i need to know; or just link a couple threads or something. For background, I'm 15 and currently debating a career in Law or IB. Based on my knowledge of IB so far (a lot of family friends' experiences), I'd definitely say IB>law. I want to research more into corp. law though, to give it a fighting chance.

Any and every help will be appreciated. Thanks.

• 🤝
Reactions: Jaysen

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hey everyone,

I'm a complete and utter beginner to both this site and corporate law in general. I have a (very) basic understanding of TC's, but that's where my knowledge ends. I was wondering if anyone on this site can walk me through the interview process/qualifications needed/firms i need to know; or just link a couple threads or something. For background, I'm 15 and currently debating a career in Law or IB. Based on my knowledge of IB so far (a lot of family friends' experiences), I'd definitely say IB>law. I want to research more into corp. law though, to give it a fighting chance.

- You’ll need any degree (or equivalent level qualification, like a level 6 apprenticeship). You’ll typically be supported through your professional qualifications (SQE) after securing a job, but can choose to self fund those if you wanted to.

- interview process will be very similar to Investment Banks - but will vary between firms. A recruitment process could consist of any of the following:

- Online application form
- Psychometric tests
- Video/telephone interview