SRA Character and Suitability (Debt Management Plan) admission

Trainee24

Standard Member
Feb 4, 2024
I was wondering if someone on here can help me. I am a trainee solicitor and I am due to qualify at the end of June 2024. I am currently on a debt management plan (DMP) which I disclosed to the SRA via the early character and suitability assessment route. A bit of background, I got into some credit card debt during my time at University (2013-2016) and during the 2/3 year period after I moved back home. I had some family troubles which meant i had to leave the family home and struggles to keep up with bills, I also had severe mental health problems and struggled with alcoholism and have been in recovery for nearly 5 years now. I entered the DMP in November 2019 and kept up with all payments, however, as I had to stop paying my creditors my credit file showed some defaults hence why I had to disclose this issues. The SRA found there to be no issues with my character and suitability.