time2work

Star Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
M&A Bootcamp
Junior Lawyer
Nov 7, 2020
Hi all!

I have just graduated with a non-law degree from a RG university and intend on applying for vac schemes this coming 2021 winter and next summer. I come from a low-socioeconomic background and am a first-generation uni student so have very few professional/legal contacts that could help with legal experience. I really would like to use this summer to bolster my CV and put myself in a good position for the upcoming application season and would love advice on ways I can prep before the application season begins and boost my cv and attractability to city firms? I have very little legal work experience (but extensive experience in other stuff) and have not completed any vac schemes so would love any suggestions on how non-law grads can stand out?

Any advice much appreciated! :)

Dheepa

Legendary Member
Staff member
Future Trainee
TCLA Moderator
Premium Member
Forum Team
M&A Bootcamp
Junior Lawyer 43
  • Jan 20, 2019
    If you don't mind sharing, what other work experience do you have? I think most people get caught up in thinking they need legal work experience when you really don't. Also depending on what the non-legal work experience was, it can actually help you stand out as well.

Other ways you can bolster your CV is things like volunteering with a cause you're passionate about, learning a language, etc. It sounds minor but having "interesting experiences" that you can talk about in apps will again really help you stand out.

Other simple things you can do is start researching the firms you want to apply to, make a list including deadlines, and if you haven't interacted with the firms before consider applying for open days/events with them. I'd also recommend actually starting to think about and draft your answers to "why commercial law" because it can actually be really hard to come up with a non-generic answer.