TC Journey

dinoorchestra

Star Member
Premium Member
  • Feb 5, 2023
    Hi everyone!

I have seen a few of these threads and decided to create my own since I noticed that I struggle with holding myself accountable for putting as much work into my training contract journey as possible.

I am a postgraduate student studying my LLM Intellectual Property Law. I previously graduated with a LLB Law degree. Outside my studies, I am committed to working pro bono with two legal advice providers as a student volunteer (admin tasks, helpline,..) and enjoy being involved backstage with stage crew for performances at my university or taking lessons with my university's fencing club. I started getting serious about applications last year, but because I suddenly struggled with medical issues (which required surgical intervention in the summer), my efforts were pretty much shut down. Nevertheless, I managed to get a vacation scheme and completed it! I try to take this as a motivation that I can do it, no matter what a disaster the last six months have been for me personally.

My goal for this year is plain and simple: get a training contract through vacation schemes! To get there, I want to complete one application and one TCLA course per week, as well as dedicate 30 minutes each day to practising critical thinking tests + commercial awareness, respectively.

To hold myself accountable for actually completing the work that I set myself to do, I will update the thread with an update every week.

Win!:
    Baker McKenzie Open Day - accepted

Currently I have the following applications pending:
    Taylor Wessing
    Bird & Bird
    Bristows
    Hogan Lovells
    Mishcon de Reya
    Reed Smith

I have heard back from:
    Linklaters Open Day - Rejected
    A&O Vacation Scheme - Rejected
    HL Lift Off - Rejected

Thank you so much for checking on my thread :) Feel free to stay around!

Last edited:

dinoorchestra

Star Member
    Premium Member
  • Feb 5, 2023