Too late to apply for magic circle / vac schemes

City Lawyer wannabe

Standard Member
Apr 14, 2021
Hello,

I am 25 years old.

I graduated top of my class (LL.B.) from a low-ranking UK institution from 2016-2019

I then attended a Russell Group university for my first LL.M. and graduated with a Distinction 2019-2020.

After, mainly due to COVID-19 restrictions I decided to take a further LL.M. (Int Taxation) at another Russell Group university 2020-2021.

For 2021-2022 I will be attending the University of Cambridge for yet another LL.M. , since it has always been a dream of mine to attend Oxbridge.

My academic profile will look like this...

LL.B. , LL.M. , LL.M. (Int Tax) , LL.M. (Oxbridge).

In attending a low-ranking institution, it was incredibly difficult to find opportunities. We did not have connections to law firms, campus ambassadors etc etc.

I still managed to gain some 'less prestigious' work experience at high-street/regional law firms. Aside from this I have held a full-time job as a legal assistant and legal intern abroad for one year. I also help in managing a property portfolio covering various legal aspects.

Do you think I still have a shot at applying for magic circle vac schemes/training contracts or would you say 25 is too late?

Thank you.

HorsesForCoursesNeighNeighNeigh

Legendary Member
Future Trainee
Premium Member
Forum Winner
M&A Bootcamp
Dec 1, 2020
Why do you think you are too late? Have you applied before?

I don't see the value in the multiple LLMs though, would you not be better getting a job and applying for direct TCs and winter schemes now?