Unsure where I stand. LPC or SQE?

Lbrown251019

Apr 13, 2022
I appreciate this may be a really niche situation. I have contacted the SRA, however I am still awaiting a reply. I am a non-law graduate who works at a law firm (currently on maternity leave). Back in July 2021 I secured a training contract and I am in a very privileged position as my employer is willing to fund my PGDL and LPC/SQE. My employer does not have any preference which route I take. I am unsure whether I still fall under the transitional arrangements as I accepted the offer in writing back in July 2021, however I never registered as a trainee with the SRA as I went on maternity so short after. Also, I start my PGDL in September and I return to work starting the training contract in July. I am just wondering which route I will most likely take once this is completed. I hope it all makes sense!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I appreciate this may be a really niche situation. I have contacted the SRA, however I am still awaiting a reply. I am a non-law graduate who works at a law firm (currently on maternity leave). Back in July 2021 I secured a training contract and I am in a very privileged position as my employer is willing to fund my PGDL and LPC/SQE. My employer does not have any preference which route I take. I am unsure whether I still fall under the transitional arrangements as I accepted the offer in writing back in July 2021, however I never registered as a trainee with the SRA as I went on maternity so short after. Also, I start my PGDL in September and I return to work starting the training contract in July. I am just wondering which route I will most likely take once this is completed. I hope it all makes sense!