Unusual situation - med student moving to a career in law

dreallday

Sep 25, 2022
Hey, I'm new here but to cut long story short, I'm a medical student at a top RG university, who's transferring out of medicine to complete a Biochemistry degree (3rd year, therefore finalist). My eyes are currently set on patent attorney traineeships, vacation schemes and training contracts, however, due to my recent decision to switch career course and my lack of professional development I have concerns regarding the feasibility of applications. While I feel quite competent in answering application questions (why this firm, what skills you have etc.) being able to pull transferable skills from other things I've done in life, I don't exactly know how much a lack of legal experience will affect me, I know this isn't a major issue for applying to biochemistry related patent traineeships, but for vacation schemes and training contracts many times it is asked about what legal experience you've undertaken or how you've been proactive in law. I've done a few virtual internships (Clifford chance and HSF), and will be attending open days this autumn season, but aside from that, I'm a fresh face to this scene. I of course intend to network via LinkedIn/email and will aim to get work experience prior to the summer vac scheme deadlines. But my big issue is that my second-year grades fell below (health reasons for the most part but not necessarily mitigating), I finished 1st year with a ~2.1, and got A*A*A* at A level, but due to a heavy fall in grades in 2nd year I fear it may not be worth applying until graduation (presuming a 2.1/1). Does anyone have any guidance for a situation like mine, or in general if it's worth applying despite lacklustre 2nd year grades?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019